Office of Research

Northern Health is committed to providing outstanding healthcare by constantly striving to improve the range, quality and safety of our services. We work alongside our patients to align our research efforts to the needs of our local community, and collaborate with our partners to conduct innovative research projects and translate them into practice.

The Northern Centre for Education and Research, a joint collaboration between Northern Health, The University of Melbourne and La Trobe University, provides both states of the art education and research facilities as well as being a hub for our innovative research efforts.

Northern Health strongly encourages staff and the community to be involved in research, and an innovative, evidence-based approach underpins our practice.

Medical Lead – Research
Prof Peter Brooks
Email: Peter.Brooks@nh.org.au
Director, Medical Services & Research     
Dr Michael Kirk
Email: Michael.Kirk@nh.org.au
Manager – Clinical Research
Simone Said
Email: Simone.Said@nh.org.au
Phone: 846 80746
Work Days: Mon – Fri
Manager – Research Ethics Governance and Integrity
Lynda Harrison
Email: Lynda.Harrison@nh.org.au
Work Days: Mon, Tues, Thurs & Alternating Fridays
Research Governance Officer
Jingfei Wu
Email: Jingfei.Wu@nh.org.au
Phone: 840 52918
Work Days: Mon – Fri
Biostatistician
Mark Tacey
Email: Mark.Tacey@nh.org.au
Phone: 846 80742
Work Days: Wed, Thur, Fri
Ethics and Governance submission specialist
Hala Mehdi
Email:
ethics@nh.org.au
Phone:
846 80743
Work Days:
Tues & Fri
Senior Advisor – Research
Brittany Szabo
Email:
Brittany.Szabo@nh.org.au
Phone:
840 52008
Work Days:
Mon, Tues, Thurs & Alternating Fridays
Low Risk Ethics Officer
Amina Khayre
Email:
ethics@nh.org.au
Phone:
846 80743
Work Days:
Tues & Thurs
General Research or Clinical Trials enquiries
Email: nh.research@nh.org.au
Phone: (03) 8468 0746
Research Governance and Ethics enquiries
Email: ethics@nh.org.au
Phone: (03) 8405 2918